The Counties Transit Improvement Board is taking regional transit to the next level in the metropolitan area. Since April 2008, five counties – Anoka, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey and Washington – have utilized a quarter-cent sales tax and $20 a motor vehicle sales tax, permitted by the Legislature, to invest in and advance transit projects by awarding annual capital and operating grants. The Board works in collaboration with the Metropolitan Council and Carver and Scott counties.



The Board’s vision is a network of interconnected transitways that allows users to move efficiently and safely, while mitigating congestion, enhancing economic development and improving environmental stability for the region.


Formed in 2008 as a result of legislation passed by the Minnesota Legislature, the Board has distributed millions of dollars for funding transitway projects in the metropolitan area.


Five counties – Anoka, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Washington – are members of the Board, and collaborate with the Metropolitan Council. Two counties – Carver and Scott – are ex-officio members.


The Counties Transit Improvement Board is a joint powers board. Each county has two members and one alternate. The Metropolitan Council has one member and one alternate.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of the Board officers and one county commissioner from each county who are not officers.

Grant Evaluation and Ranking System (GEARS) Committee

The Grant Evaluation and Ranking System (GEARS) Committee evaluates all capital and operating grant applications, compiling a list of ranked potential projects for the Board to review.