Transportation Finance Advisory Committee Issues Final Report

The state Transportation Finance Advisory Committee, established late in 2011, released its final report on Dec. 27, 2012. The Advisory Committee was established by Governor Mark Dayton to analyze potential revenue sources and non-traditional approaches to transportation funding and financing as well as opportunities for public-private partnerships to invest in transportation improvements. The report finds that the Counties Transit Improvement Board “has been highly effective in advancing Twin Cities metro area transit projects” and includes recommendations for further expansion of the metropolitan area transit.

The Advisory Committee was a 19 member panel comprising legislators, agency heads, members of the business and investment community, an economist, a union representative and representatives from city and county government. Two members of the Counties Transit Improvement Board served on the Advisory Committee:  Peter McLaughlin, Board Chair and Hennepin County Commissioner, and Susan Haigh, Chair of the Metropolitan Council. Another member of the Advisory Committee also serves on CTIB’s GEARS Committee:  Toni Carter, Ramsey County Commissioner.

The full Advisory Committee report can be accessed via this link:  Full report (PDF 98 pages)

The summary report and recommendations can be accessed via this link: PDF 

Transportation Finance Advisory Committee Members

  • Tom Sorel and Bernie Arseneau, MnDOT Acting Commissioner and TFAC Chair
  • Sentor Joe Gimse
  • Senator Scott Dibble
  • Representative Mike Beard
  • Representative Terry Morrow
  • (Mark Phillips and) Katie Clark, Acting Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development
  • Susan Haigh, Chair, Metropolitan Council
  • Cal Brink, Executive Director, Marshall Chamber of Commerce
  • Charlie Zelle, President and CEO, Jefferson Lines
  • Dan Riley, Vice President, Property Development Operations, Target Corporation
  • Art Rolnick, Senior Fellow, University of Minnesota
  • Cory Hoeppner, Director, RBC Capital Markets
  • Shawn Mason, Mayor, International Falls
  • Adolph Ojard, Executive Director, Duluth Seaway Port Authority
  • Shar Knutson, President, AFL-CIO
  • Peter McLaughlin, Commissioner, Hennepin County
  • Toni Carter, Commissioner, Ramsey County
  • Harlen Madsen, Commissioner, Kandiyohi County
  • Jan Rintamaki, Director of Government Relations, Polaris Industries